Archie Loeb, a well-known business man in the Watertown community, was honored at Watertown's Riverfest celebration Saturday by having the Main Street bridge named after him for the next year.

“His company, Loeb Industries, along with Chickens Unlimited, has paid for the entire cost of the shuttle buses for Riverfest, an undertaking that runs into the thousands of dollars every year,” Watertown Riverfest Chairman Tom Schultz said at the presentation.

Loeb received a plaque and his name will be engraved on a plaque at the Main Street bridge and entrance of the Rock River Walkway.

There were more than 20 nominations this year for the prestigious honor, Schultz said. “The person who nominated Archie for this honor said, ‘For 55 consecutive years Archie Loeb has personally participated in Water-town's Fourth of July parade. He has sponsored for the entertainment of the community many parade entries from horses to antique vehicles.'”

He has privately given money to individuals and organizations in need, the nominee said.

Loeb is a 57-year member of the Watertown Noon Kiwanis and is a recipient of the prestigious Hixson award.

The company that bears his name has provided employment for hundreds of people for decades, Schultz said. The business, which has expanded from one to three locations, is proud of having earned both the ISO and the OHSAS certifications.

Loeb has served on numerous community boards of directors including Opportunities Inc. in Fort Atkinson.

“Above all else, Archie is an honest, humble and hard-working man who has always put family above all else,” Schultz said.

Loeb joins a long list of others who have been honored.

Past award winners are:

River Days

1982 William Connor

1983 Evelyn Rose

1984 Dr. Louis Nowack

1985 Raymond Dobbratz

1986 Myra McInnis


1987 Dr. Robert Liners

1988 E. James and Katherine J. Quirk

1989 Rolland Freitag

1990 Mary Connor

1991 Robert Krueger

1992 Daniel Brandenstein

1993 Rev. M. Fred Himmerich

1994 Larry Schultz

1995 John Model

1996 Bobby Maas

1997 John Wanke

1998 Larry Mistele

1999 Richard Block

2000 Richard Minning

2001 Clarence Mess

2002 Dr. William “Bill” Ehlinger

2003 Chris Huhti

2004 Joe Ready

2005 Arthur Turke

2006 Ray Kubly

2007 Ora Kuckkan

Recommended for you

Load comments