Swanson garners Trailways South POY honors

Johnson Creek junior Justin Swanson was voted Player of the Year in Trailways South all-conference baseball voting held recently.

Junior pitcher Justin Swanson was voted the Player of the Year in Trailways South all-conference baseball voting held recently.

Swanson was one of four players honored for the conference champion Bluejays.

Senior infielder Anthony Purpi and sophomore infielder Bow Hartwig also made first team. Junior catcher Reed Garsky was named to the second team.

On the mound, Swanson led the league with a 9-2 record. He posted an earned run average of 1.15 over 61 innings, allowing 10 earned runs on 42 hits with a league-best 85 strikeouts and 13 walks. At the plate.

Offensively, Swanson led the league in runs scored with 37 and was second in stolen bases with 20. He batted .314 and tied for sixth in total hits with 27.

Hartwig led the league in total hits with 32 and tied for second in RBIs with 28. His batting average was .405. On the mound, the team’s No. 2 pitcher went 4-2 with one save and an ERA of 1.09, having allowed seven earned runs on 25 hits with 50 strikeouts and eight walks.

Purpi was second in the league in hits with 30. He batted .361 and tied for third in the league in stolen bases with 17.

Henningsen batted .333. He tied for third in the league in stolen bases with 17 and was fifth in total hits with 28. He had 19 RBIs and scored 25 runs.

Garsky tied for sixth in the league in total hits with 27 while batting .386 with 24 RBIs.

Johnson Creek won the Trailways South with a 7-1 record, followed by Deerfield at 6-2, Palmyra-Eagle at 4-4, Parkview at 3-5 and Williams Bay at 0-8.



Player of the year — Justin Swanson, Johnson Creek



Justin Swanson, Johnson Creek, junior


Ben LaRonge, Deerfield, senior

Dylon Lurvey, Palmyra-Eagle, junior


Jack Kuiper, Williams Bay, senior

Anthony Purpi, Johnson Creek, senior

Bow Hartwig, Johnson Creek, sophomore

Carson Knapp, Deerfield, senior

Carson Galla, Deerfield, junior

Justin Balch, Parkview, senior


Bryce Henningsen, Johnson Creek, senior

Corey Monty, Palmyra-Eagle, sophomore

Eli Hoscheit, Parkview, senior

Simon Fuerstenberg, Deerfield, senior


Derek Stefanczyk, Palmyra-Eagle, junior



Collin Kuiper, Williams Bay, freshman


Reed Garsky, Johnson Creek, junior


Sam Norton, Williams Bay, sophomore

Ryan Carpenter, Palmyra-Eagle, sophomore

Kadin Matheson, Deerfield, sophomore

Tyler Haak, Deerfield, junior


Jarrett Brown, Parkview, senior

Matt Ollis, Palmyra-Eagle, junior

Clayton Mathwig, Deerfield, sophomore


Adrian Meza, Parkview, senior

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.