Five Watertown athletes were recognized in Badger Conference South Division all-conference girls soccer voting held recently.

Junior forward/midfielder Anna Schroeder and junior forward Alayna Clark were named to the first team. Freshman center midfielder Samantha Petroski was named to the second team. Senior center defender Cecilia Hickey and sophomore defender Aubrey Schmutzler received honorable mention.

Schroeder, a Butler University recruit, had 19 goals and 17 assists as a team captain for the Goslings this season. This is her second consecutive first team all-conference honor.

“Anna has speed, footwork, vision, and soccer knowledge which can be seen in her high level play,” Watertown girls soccer coach Julie Muse said.

Clark scored 30 goals and added six assists. The team captain had multiple hat tricks this season, and also earned her second consecutive first team all-conference honor.

“Her speed and tenacity make her a force that is hard to control,” Muse said. “Alayna scored in six of seven conference matchups with multiple goals in five of the six including two goals against Badger South champion Oregon.”

Petroski averaged close to 75 minutes per game this season and contributed four goals and two assists.

“Sam is a highly competitive, conditioned athlete,” Muse said. “Sam was able to come in as a freshman and make the starting lineup for our team. She did an excellent job in the midfield.”

Hickey was the captain and leader of the defense.

“Celia is a solid communicator,” Muse said. “She can play anywhere on the field. Celia has been a consistent four-year player in the soccer program. She leads with a positive and encouraging attitude.”

Schmutzler averaged roughly 80 minutes per game for the defense as a starting center defensive midfielder.

“Aubrey is a strong and physical athlete, who plays with a high intensity,” Muse said.

Oregon won the Badger South with a 7-0 record, followed by Edgewood at 6-1, Watertown at 5-2, Monona Grove at 4-3, Milton at 3-4, Fort Atkinson at 2-5, Stoughton at 1-6 and Monroe at 0-7.




Madeline Cruz, Edgewood, senior

*Jordyn Rothwell, Edgewood, senior

Hailey Rothwell, Edgewood, sophomore

Chloe Buescher, Milton, senior

Maelia Dzeidzic, Monona Grove, junior

*Sydney McKee, Oregon, senior

Avary Fanning, Oregon, junior

Brooklyn Kane, Oregon, junior

Anna Schroeder, Watertown, junior

Alayna Clark, Watertown, junior

Melia Moyer, Oregon, junior, goalie

*Unanimous selection


Alexandra Cruz Edgewood, sophomore

Madison DeMorett, Edgewood, senior

Maisy Andes, Edgewood, freshman

Alexa Dahnert, Fort Atkinson, sophomore

Madeline Davis-Troller, Monona Grove, junior

Jensen Ruesch, Monona Grove,, senior

Emma Halverson, Oregon, junior

Cassie Kluck, Oregon, senior

Maddy Swartzmiller, Oregon, senior

Samantha Petroski,  Watertown, freshman

Sophie Wendt, Monona Grove, senior, goalie


Cailee Hanson, Edgewood, senior

Carolyn Ring, Edgewood junior

Lizzie Drake, Edgewood junior

Jacquelyn Jensen, Fort Atkinson, senior

Gabi Arnold, Monona Grove, senior

Katie Eisele, Oregon,senior

Kaitlyn Schrimpf, Oregon, junior

Karmen Smyth, Stoughton, sophomore

Aubrey Schmutzler, Watertown, sophomore

Cecelia Hickey, Watertown, senior

Ellie Meriggioli, Edgewood, freshman, goalie

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.